Breakfast Ideas, Recipes
Leave a Comment

The “granola” pillow talk…

Every night before we go to sleep, I turn to him, all excited and unable to contain myself.

 Yes he’s handsome, but he knows it’s not him, (sorry!)

What is it then? I hear you gasp!

It’s …breakfast.

I’m so enthusiastic about being able to eat again that I have to rhyme off all the possibilities that I could devour the next morning! Breakfast is my favourite beyond favourite meal-if you’ve not noticed!

Now that the days are getting brighter and the sun is starting to warm our cheeks, my daily porridge is starting to feel a bit last season. It’s too hot and wintery.

We need something light and golden. Something simple and sweet to reflect how our days are going to go from now on.

Start Spring as you mean to go on I say…

With honey and vanilla golden granola

You need:

250g oats

4 tablespoons vegetable oil

4 tablespoons of honey-I use acacia honey as it’s sweet and light!

1 vanilla pod

Turn the oven to 190 degrees.

Mix the oats with 3 tablespoons of oil and 3 tablespoons of honey, plus the inside of the pod. When they start to stick together loosely, add in the last tablespoons of oil and honey. Mix again and I find that adding a little more liquid last, helps to pull the granola together.

Bake on a baking tray lined twice with baking paper, with the vanilla pod, for about 20 minutes, stirring half way through. I split my mix and baked it in two batches, as you want to spread the granola out evenly. If your baking tray isn’t big enough to bake this mix evenly, do it twice.

Leave to cool and store in air tight container for around four weeks.

You need to start your day off brightly. This is such a perfectly sweet and healthy way to do so! I get a bit wary of all the low fat, minus this plus that type cereals, because all I really want is nice food containing ingredients that I can pronounce. Four ingredients. Simply scrumptious!

image

Leave a Reply

