Food, Recipes
Leave a Comment

A Kneady Blonde has been kneading: the easiest bread ever…

It fascinates me.

That technique, that smell and most of all, that crust.

The art of bread making will never fail to amaze me, and I really do believe that everybody has ten minutes to whip up this easy bake loaf, rather than opting to buy big name brands which seem to have an endless list of e-numbers residing in them.

That scares me a little.

And this…

IMG_4805

…this block of wholemeal happiness on the other hand, makes me tremble with excitement!

Who wouldn’t want the waft of freshly rising dough filtering through their home?

Try it and trust me, after making this, you’ll always be kneading this loaf in your life…

After going through endless recipes, I found this overtly simple one:

500g bread flour-I chose wholemeal

A packet of 7g fast action yeast

A pinch of salt

2 tblsp of olive oil

1 tblsp of honey

300 ml lukewarm water

Mix the dry ingredients together, and then mix the liquids together before combining all in a bowl and creating a sticky dough.

Knead for about 5 minutes on a lightly floured surface, and place in a lightly oiled bread tin before leaving to rise for an hour. I placed mine in a large sandwich bag, and left it in a relatively warm area.

When it’s doubled, lightly press the surface and if the dough doesn’t bounce back, it is ready.

Place in an oven at 200 degrees for about 30 minutes. Tap out on to a cooling rack. If you tap the bottom of the bread, it should sound hollow.

You really can’t beat it.

I ate my dinner whilst it was rising and jumped in the shower whilst it was doing it’s own wonderful thing in the oven. If you have children, get them involved.

It’s the feeling I’m getting right now, whilst I’m dipping this large chunk of bread in to my soup, knowing I made it and proud that it tastes good.

But that’s not the end…

In a reaction to making good bread, I then found myself making a clear Spring soup:

IMG_4801

So if you want to know how to make this light and refreshing dish, keep your eyes peeled and keep on kneading!

Leave a Reply

