Recipes
Leave a Comment

The Summer sniffles stew…

It’s really confusing you know.

Why, in Summer, do we get colds? All I want to do is bask in the shine of this warming English sun but I can’t, because it seems I need a tissue every two minutes.

I felt particularly bad yesterday and I’m just that person (ask Mr. Kneady) who annoyingly knows exactly what they want and more so, what they need.

I needed that homely feeling. I needed a pot of goodness to scrub away whatever this bug is and that’s exactly what I made.

People should listen to their bodies more, and understand that what we put in can really determine what we get out of our days.

This past week has been hectic for me and I know I haven’t eaten or rested enough.

As it’s officially Summer, this stew needed to be light and colourful, and I could just envision what it would look like-a treat to the eye as well as the body.

How do I feel today? A million times better. Coincidence or not, good food is the foundation to good feelings.

Chicken & sweet potato stew: a pot full of you

chicken stew

4 free range, organic chicken legs

1 red onion

2 garlic cloves

1 large sweet potato

Around 12 cherry tomatoes

1 tin of plum tomatoes

10 baby carrots

a handful of peas

2 stalks of sage and 2 of rosemary (these were from my garden!)

A tablespoon of white wine vinegar

1/2 litre of boiling water

2 tablespoons of liquid chicken stock

Peel and roughly chop your sweet potato, boiling until just soft.

Lightly fry the red onion, chopped, the cherry tomatoes and the baby carrots whole in a large stew pot.

In another pan, fry off the chicken legs skin side down to get the skins lovely and brown. turn over and cook until lightly brown on the other side.

Crush the garlic and add in to the onions along with the herbs. Turn up the heat a little and when hot, pour in the white wine vinegar. Turn down once your vinegar has burned away.

Drain the potatoes and pour in to the stewing pot and mix.

Place in the chicken, tinned tomatoes and after mixing the stock with the boiling water, pour over the stew and mix gently.

Add in the peas and season well.

Cook at 200 degrees for about 20-25 minutes and serve with a chunk of bread.

I was so excited about the look of my dinner that I simply forgot I felt ill.

Magical really.

Leave a Reply

