Baking/desserts, Food, Recipes, week menu
Leave a Comment

It’s raining gingerbread cats and dogs…

I’m pretty sure it’s the same for everyone.

One of the fondest memories I have is of me and my Grandma baking away, her teaching me and me eating out of the bowl when I shouldn’t.

You just can’t beat that feeling of nostalgia.

What I don’t want to happen is for that kind of tradition to die out-it’s an essential part of childhood and it’s a treasured picture in your mind of that special lady who is a big part of your life.

You know me.

I’m all about home cooking and practically live like I’m an old lady, with my tea and my markets and my love for all things vintage.

But it’s the simplicity I love. It’s the essence of togetherness that comes hand in hand with  baking with one of your loved ones and if we’re not going teach them about that wonderful feeling, who will?

I just adore being in the kitchen with my godson who is 2, or my niece who is 5.

me and dalton baking

They may think I’m crazy Aunty Emily, but they also know I make bloomin’ good gingerbread!

I have made these gingerbread biscuits before on here (it’s my Grandma’s recipe) but for anyone who fancies baking on this sunny Saturday afternoon, here you go:

Memories are made of gingerbread

IMG_6152

12oz plain flour

2 teaspoons of ground ginger

1 teaspoon of bi-carb

6 oz brown sugar

4oz butter cubed

1 egg

2 tablespoons of milk

4 tablespoons of honey

Oven: 190 degrees.

Line two baking trays.

Place the flour, ginger and bi-carb in to a ball and rub in the butter so it becomes a fine dry mix. Add in the sugar.

Whisk the wet ingredients together in a separate bowl.

Pour the wet mix into the dry and mix until a dough forms.

Knead until smooth on a lightly floured surface and roll out thinly.

Cut out your shapes-ours were a variety of animals including cats, dogs, alligators and bears!

Place on your baking trays and cook for about 12 minutes or until slightly golden on top.

This recipe makes quite a lot of biscuits which means you’ll have enough in case your godson likes to watch Toy Story three times in one day…

Thanks Grandma!

Leave a Reply

