Breakfast Ideas, Food, week menu
Leave a Comment

FIG-uring out breakfast: Honey roasted fig toast!

It’s no surprise to anybody who reads this anymore that I, Emily-the Kneady Blonde-love breakfast.

We all know I think about it before I go to sleep and I just kind of wish that every meal was breakfast.

I am however guilty of sucking myself in to a porridge routine and only switching up my morning meal on a weekend-which can get extremely boring.

This morning, I woke up 15 minutes early in order to make breakfast before I got to work and to have a little time to whip something fresh and new up.

CUE…

Roasted fig toast.

Yes, thick sliced wholemeal toast with cottage cheese and roasted, honey drizzled figs (figs are season right now and utterly beautiful!)

It really is true that you start as you mean to go on.

Today I’m feeling fruity and fresh and really, there is no other way to feel on a Friday is there?

IMG_6586

You need:

2 slices of thick wholemeal bread

2 tablespoons of cottage cheese

2 fresh figs

1 teaspoons of honey

Some real butter for your toast

Method:

Turn the grill to 200 degrees.

Make coss shaped slices in to the top of each fig so that when they are grilles, they open like a flower.

Drizzle half a teaspoon of honey in to each fig and grill for 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, toast your bread, butter once done and spread a tablespoon of cottage cheese over each slice.

When the figs are done, place one on each slice of toast and drizzle with a little more honey.

Then I think you will find that people will notice your in a particularly fabulous mood for the rest of the day!

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

