Baking/desserts, Food, Recipes, week menu
Leave a Comment

Lazy Chai afternoons: Chai Tea Bread & Mixed Spice Butter…

To fulfil my promise of giving you a “coming together” recipe every Sunday, this one really will make you forget all your troubles (for example, the grudge I may be holding against Mr. Kneady due to the fact he woke me up at 3am this morning…)

Anyway, I’m really over that.

Obviously.

But on the bright and spicy side, I adapted my Grandmother’s Tea Fruit Bread and made it in to a more modern sort of latte version, an afternoon slice worthy of any sort of Sunday you might be having.

I love chai tea.

I just adore all those aromas that waft from the likes of nutmeg and cinnamon and ginger.

So I decided that the only way to make myself and in effect, those around me happy today, I needed to make something that I truly love.

And I’ve  definitely always had a soft spot for this Tea Bread. Good old Grandma’s eh?

Nothing says Sunday like Grandmother’s cake!

We had my a big family dinner today with my sister, her husband, my niece and Mum and Dad, and instead of a pudding, we just sat and had coffee with a slice of chai. Heaven!

Chai Tea Bread & Mixed Spice Butter

IMG_6680

You need:

1/2 pint Chai Tea

6 oz chopped dates

4oz butter

4oz sugar

9oz Self-raising

Pinch of salt

1/2 teaspoon of mixed spice

1 teaspoon of bi-carb

Method:

Pre-heat the oven to 130 degrees.

Place the tea in a jug and measure out the sugar, dates and butter while it brews slightly. Boil these together removing the teabag for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

While this is simmering, place all the dry ingredients in to a bowl and pour in the tea mix.

Mix and place in a lightly greased tin and cook for 2 hours. Don’t worry-it will be a little lumpy.

Turn half way through.

My Gran’s recipe did say 2.5 hours but I guess you will know how fast your own ovens cook.

For the butter:

85g butter

1 teaspoon mixed spice

2 teaspoon caster sugar

Mix together until smooth.

I’d stand in front of a mirror whilst you’re eating this. Pop a slice in and watch your face light up with delight!

Remember, Sunday’s are for relaxing and smiling and the only way to achieve this today is by eating cake!

Leave a Reply

