Breakfast Ideas, Food, Recipes
Comments 2

Simple scrambled eggs and our first home!

This blog is quite special to me in more than one tasty way.

Firstly, I welcome back my original blog name because since I deleted it, things haven’t been the same.

For those of you that don’t know, I started my food blogging journey in Australia, writing about recipes from my Grandma’s cookbook. It was a little piece of home whilst I was on the other side of the world.

“My Grandma Taught Me How to Cook

Then life got a bit crazy and well, I pressed delete…

Secondly, me and Mr. GTMHTC have just moved in to our very first home. Hooray! I have my own kitchen-which is absolutely wonderful by the way-to cook, bake and dream away in and I feel like it’s a fresh start for me.

image

So what did I cook for our very first breakfast this morning?

Yep.

Eggs and bacon.

Simple but wonderful when that’s all the ingredients you have in your cupboard!

And it gave me a thought: EGGS.

Everybody has their own way of scrambling eggs-including me and him.

The next couple of months are going to be a bit of a learning curve for me as I embark on a journey of self-sufficiency.

Roast chickens, cooking on a budget and of course, scrambled egg breakys…

Here is how to make the easiest scrambled eggs in my eyes and I hope you enjoy the journey! πŸ™‚ x

image

For 2 people:

4 eggs

1 knob of butter

1/2 cup of full-fat milk

salt & pepper

How:

In a pan, melt the butter on a low heat.

Whisk the eggs in a separate bowl and add a good pinch of salt and pepper.

Add the milk to the pan, mix with the melted butter and pour in the eggs.

Now I stir with a fork but I’m gathering many will do it differently.

Turn the heat to medium and continue to stir until-surprise, surprise-your eggs scramble.

This is where your personal taste comes to light.

What kind of scrambled are you?

Remember the heat of the pan will carry on cooking your eggs, so if you like them more on the runny side, pour on to your plate now.

I like mine a little more solid.

Once finished, I season again and add streaky bacon, crisp and brown.

I also think full-fat milk gives you that extra bit ofΒ creaminess you want-plus it is Sunday…

I like simple food and I like them done well, especially now we’re in our own home cooking all of our own meals.

Oh it’s so exciting isn’t it?!

Welcome home my Grandma taught me how to cook...

2 Comments

  1. Looking forward to some lovely cooking from the ‘Ashworth/Slinger’ kitchen when we arrive back xxx Bean burgers would be fab !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

