Breakfast Ideas, Food, Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Roasted chestnut & cinnamon porridge: For winter morning warmth…

For those who don’t know…

I AM A CHRISTMAS FREAK.

Oh how I love that sparkling feeling.

It’s those dark mornings and evenings, warming yourself up with tasty bowls of whatever.

I’ve passed the half way through November mark now-I’ve just bought my tree for the new house and I’m ready!

In all honesty, I haven’t had time to do much cooking, but as Christmas approaches, my tinsled fingers are restless.

So what says the “start of Christmas” like roasted chestnuts?

It’s just that smell!

It’s the colour and the feeling of peeling those toasted skins whilstย taking inย that warm, nutty aroma before popping one in your mouth.

They’re in season right now and there’s nothing better than getting in to the swing of things than by roasting a batch of chestnuts ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_8422.JPG

Breakfast

This morning, I got up early and made porridge in the pan, sprinkled with last nights roasted chestnuts.

Now porridge is a touchy subject in my household.

I love mine well, like cement, as Mr. GTMHTC says, but I believe that is my Mother’s fault. She used to occasionally make herself this bowl of what can only be described as stodge heaven: Thick porridge in a bowl with brown sugar and condensed milk.

Need I say anymore?

So, here is my cinnamon and roasted chestnut porridge – to start your winter morning with love and warmth…

IMG_8455.JPG

You will need:ย 

3 or 4 chestnuts

1/2 cup of water

1/2 cup of milk

1/2 cup of oats

1/2 cinnamon stick

2 tsp honey

How:

The chestnuts take 30 minutes to roast, so I cooked mine the night before.

Turn your oven to 180 degrees and score the chestnuts with a cross on the skins so they don’t explode in your oven.

Place in a tray and roast for half an hour. When done, peel the skins off whilst warm.

For the porridge, place the milk, water, oats, 1 tsp of honey and cinnamon in a pan and on a medium heat, stir with a wooden spoon until thick – or until it is the consistency you want.

Remove the cinnamon, pour in to a bowl, chop the nuts and sprinkle on top finished with a drizzle of honey.

Then eat, feel the sparkle of Christmas in your belly and have a happy day!

๐Ÿ™‚ x

IMG_8454

Leave a Reply

