Food, Recipes, Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Lonely parsnip & cinnamon soup…

There seems to be a bit of a theme going on in my house this week.

At weekend I made banana bread due to the rapidly deteriorating banana’s that were sat in my bowl and I’m afraid to say, its happened again.

Last night (I’m talking my bedtime here) I popped downstairs for a drink and came across some very sad and very lonely parsnips at the back of my fridge.

“Mr. GTMHTC! PASS ME MY APRON!”

This time of year is my favourite because there’s such an abundance of root vegetables on offer to me that I perhaps buy a little too many, whispering tasty possibilities excitedly (OK, rather psychotically) to myself as I place them in my basket.

So anyway, last night I was up quite late.

I couldn’t let these parsnips live out an unfulfilled life, so I made…

Parsnip, sweet potato, chilli and cinnamon soup

IMG_8889

One minute you’re laid in bed, trying to fall asleep.

The next your blitzing parsnips in to the early hours of the morning…

Serves 2

2 small parsnips, peeled and chopped

1/2 a large, peeled and chopped sweet potato

1/2 red onion, sliced

5 cherry tomatoes

1/2 cinnamon stick

1/2 teaspoon of chilli flakes

A touch of nutmeg

1 garlic clove, roughly chopped

Teaspoon of black pepper

1.5 litres of boiling vegetable stock

1 tablespoon of olive oil

Method:

Lightly fry the onion in the olive oil, on a medium heat.

Add in the cinnamon stick and spices and cook for a couple of minutes.

Throw in the parsnips, sweet potato and tomatoes. Stir and add in the garlic and pepper.

Cook for another couple of minutes and cover with the stock.

Boil until the parsnips and potatoes are soft.

Take out the cinnamon stick and blitz the soup until smooth.

Then I advise you to leave and eat the next day.

Do not go to bed with a very garlicky and chilli infused bowl of soup…trust me, it isn’t welcomed!

I was wary of using spices such as cinnamon but I wanted to make it festive.

It really works and all the flavours work together  wonderfully!

My parsnips would be proud!

Leave a Reply

