Food, Main dishes, Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

The simplest stew ever: Designed for Monday’s…

Oh today.

Today is not only Monday, but the day that 90% of the population return to work after the Christmas holidays.

Unless you’re the clever person who booked just one more teeny day off.

Anyway, I’m more tired than I was before Christmas, my nose seems to have lost all ability to control itself and my throat feels like well, OK, I’ll be honest, too much alcohol has striped it of its natural coating.

But I’m sure I’m not the only one…

The point is, I need vegetables.

That’s the top and bottom of it.

I am totally turkeyed out and I cannot face something too overwhelming.

So, sweet potato stew it is, filled with carrots, almonds, peas and spinach.

IMG_9414

I mean just saying that makes me feel as though I’m healthier already; as though I’m rhyming off my morning juice recipe (which I don’t ever do by the way.)

So, if you’re feeling a bit like me, sit down to a lovely bit of stew, because there’s nothing more homely, hearty or healthy.

The only three words you’ll need in January!

You will need:

serves 2

2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cut in to chunky cubes around 1 inch thick

4 carrots, peeled and cut in to 1cm rounds

1 finely chopped red onion

1 cup of frozen peas

2 handfuls of spinach

1 tin of plum tomatoes

2 tablespoons of flaked almonds

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

1 good teaspoon of ground cumin

1 good teaspoon of smoked paprika

1 tablespoon of freshly chopped parsley

I vegetable stock cube

3 tablespoons of olive oil

salt and pepper

How:

For me, the prospect of stew fills me with memories. It’s my Grandma’s kitchen or my Dad’s speciality on a cold evening. I just love it.

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.

Pour 1 tablespoon of oil in to a roasting tin and place in the oven to heat.

Once the oil is hot, place one of the chopped sweet potato’s in to the tin and begin to roast.

In a large pan, pour in the rest of the oil and add in the almonds, onions, cumin and paprika. Cook gently on a medium heat.

Once softened, add in the garlic and parsley. Stir and throw in the other cubed sweet potato and carrots. Season well and stir, so all the vegetables are covered.

Cook for 5 minutes.

Add in the tomatoes, cover with boiling water and add in the stock cube.

Cook for 15 minutes and then add in the peas.

Remember to check your roasting sweet potatoes – if they are ready before, leave in a warm oven.

Cook the stew for a further 15 minutes and once the sweet potato is soft, turn down the heat and add the spinach to the top, so it almost steams and remains almost crunchy.

IMG_9412.JPG

Don’t forget to sprinkle your roasted potatoes on top – they really make it.

Serve with either rice or do it January style like me and Mr. GTMHTC and eat with a large chunk of brown, uncut bread!

I defy anyone not to feel healthy, happy or homely once they have eaten this!

Happy January everyone!

Leave a Reply

