Australia, England, lifestyle
Leave a Comment

From Paris to Australia to…The UK Blog Awards!

This post is all about…

CELEBRATION!

I can’t quite believe it’s the 7th of January  and already wonderful things are taking place as we speak – I didn’t think this year could top the last to be honest.

But here we are and I’m ecstatic to say that I’m in the UK Blog Awards.

Hooray!

This means the world to me because I truly care about what I am doing and after making Mr. GTMHTC eat cold meals for most of his life (I have to get the right photograph of course!) I feel it’s my time.

So please vote for this blog if you enjoy cooking, eating, family and life as much as I do!

VOTE HERE! HAPPY 2016!

So what happened in 2015?

Oh lot’s of things…

JULY

The biggest adventure for us last year was going back to Australia.

That’s where it all began, where we really came together and grew, so to go back and explore rather than work was just wonderful.

Travelling up to Darwin was such an experience.

We embarked on a three day camping trip in Kakadu National Park, which blew us away from the start – we slept under the stars for goodness sake.

No tents, no bed: Just night skies, stars and us.

We ate around a roaring fire every night and learnt about the Aboriginals, about their way of life and how in this particular place they still practiced traditional living. Eating edible plants and being face to face with ancient Aboriginal art will remain in our hearts and memories forever.

Incredible.

Of course we took a little trip down memory lane and visited one of our favourite tapas bars back in Perth, WA. We literally used to just order everything and everybody else would look us with what I can only describe as greedy disgust!

21 Howard St, Perth WA 6000, Australia

It was like I had come full circle. I began my blog in Australia and going back only inspired me to continue.

G’day  and thank you Aus!

OCTOBER

Back to the other side of the world now and as October came, so did Paris.

My Mother was a French teacher and Paris was a yearly thing until I moved down under.

To go back for the first time in around 2 years was so magical because there are some places that simply touch your heart.

The French way of life, the food culture and how people approach eating fascinates and captivates me and when In France, do as the French do!

 We strolled our way to Belleville – which was as quirky as I hoped – along with finding new places to eat breakfast and dinner where as normally, we’d head to our favourite spots.

Breakfast:

mf in Paris

Monsieur Fernand, 94 Rue d’Hauteville

Quirky waiters in bow ties serving you at the counter…

mf croissant

And then you have my favourite view of all time:

Montmartre…

IMG_7521

As they say, we’ll always have Paris!

NOVEMBER

So from one city to the next, the week after Paris, Me and Mr. GTMHTC headed down to London.

And what do you do when you’re in London?

Go to Brixton market of course!

IMG_7469

We ate crepes and drank ginger and lemon grass tea at the chilled out and colourful Senzala Creperie.

Buckwheat pancakes with goats cheese, spinach and eggs?

All the way to London for that? Erm, yes…

buckwheat pancake.jpg

Oh and perhaps a little chocolate orange delight at Ben’s Cookies in Covent Garden, just to finish things off…

IMG_7473

And so the the next chapter begins.

We have moved in to our first little home and I have my first little kitchen where the two of us have to squeeze and slide past each other to fit in, but that’s how I like it.

I mean, how lucky am I?

In one year I went from one side of the world to the other and back, fell in love all over again in the city of romance and ate pancakes.

Now if that isn’t the recipe for a perfect life, I don’t know what is…

Bring it on!

#UKBA16

Leave a Reply

