Food, Recipes
Leave a Comment

A very romantic broccoli & Stilton soup…

As I mentioned in the previous post, I am away with work this week.

Now you can imagine my worry when I think about leaving Mr. Grandma Taught Me How To Cook alone to fend for himself.

“My week was simply filled with fruit and roasted vegetables darling!”

He said…never.

That’s code for I had a bacon, sausage and egg every morning from the butty shop, a pie for lunch and a family sized pack of crisps for tea.

Plus a microwave curry for good luck.

Yes, he thinks I don’t know him but he cannot hide from the good food guru – especially when you have flakes of pastry in your beard dear…

So before I went I made a huge pot of soup for him – broccoli and Stilton as it’s one of his favourites, plus it has his daily dose of veg in there.

Cooking is done best when it has purpose and as you know, to me food means love.

And fortunately I really love him…

Which meant I made a really bloody good soup!

image

Broccoli and Stilton soup: It’s brimming with love…

You need:

2 broccoli – cut the florets off and place them in a separate bowl. Keep the stems

2 onions, chopped

1 potato, quartered

1 carrot, peeled and chopped

3 celery sticks, washed and chopped

The leaves from half a sprig of thyme

3oz your Stilton of choice – I used Colston Bassett from the cheese deli I talked about in my last post

1 vegetable stock cube

Pepper

Teaspoon of butter

How:

`In a large pan on a low heat, lightly fry off the onions, carrot and celery in a teaspoon of butter. Season well with pepper.

Once softened, add in the potato and broccoli stalks and stir.

Add in the thyme leaves and fill with boiling water until the ingredients are just covered. Add the stock cube, stirring softly to help it dissolve.

Leave to boil gently for 30 minutes.

After this time, add in the florets and cover with an additional cup of boiling water.

image

Boil for another 12-15 minutes – or until the broccoli is just turning soft.

Now this was a tip I learnt when I worked at a cafe before moving to Australia. From what I remember it was to do with the colour of the soup seen as the florets are so beautifully green – it would affect the whole damn thing!

And let’s be honest, over boiled broccoli?

Not very romantic…

Anyway, the next step is to blitz the soup until smooth.

Add in the Stilton bit by bit, stirring and blitzing as you go.

image

Taste and season as you wish.

It is only now you can be safe in the knowledge that your other half will at least be eating something wonderful inbetween the rest of it – which I wish not to know about!

Ah…all in the name of love!

Leave a Reply

