Baking/desserts, Food, Recipes
Leave a Comment

Tarts of happiness: Almond & apricot jam bites…

When I’m hungry I’m angry.

When I can’t cook I’m angry.

Basically, if there’s no food or kitchen utensils around I am not a happy person.

It’s safe to say that when I was away with work last week (which consisted of 4am get ups and 7pm finishes) my itching fingers were kneading thin air, just longing and yearning for some sort of floury, buttery substance to grace them with their presence.

“What on earth are you doing with your hands Emily?”

“Oh I’m just making an alm…erm…nothing” I said.

Would you believe nobody makes metaphorical almond tarts these days? Me neither…

Anyway, it wasn’t until yesterday that all ten of them were back where they belonged: In a bowl, feeling the rich, delicious pastry I’d made probably a little too lovingly…

Soon I accidentally found myself with 24 mini jam and almond tarts, two happy hands and a very happy person.

I mean look at them:

IMG_0159.JPG

Happiness: To make food and to eat it!

This recipe is one of my favourites because the comfort of home baking just cannot be beaten. I can remember walking to Grandma’s after a bad day at school thinking, “I hope she’s made cake!” and lo and behold, as I stepped through the door, some form of sweet wonder would be sat waiting for me on the kitchen table.

That’s what food is. It’s reliving a feeling and this, for me, after a long working week is a little taste of homely goodness.

Tarts of happiness:

I made half with apricot jam and half with cherry bandy jam so feel free to use whatever flavour you like.

Pastry:

6oz butter

8oz plain flour

a sprinkle of salt

Half a cup of cold water

In a bowl, rub the flour, butter and salt together until it is the consistency of fine breadcrumbs.

Pour in a little water and bring together with your hands – you don’t have to use all the water, just as much as you need.

Once the pastry is formed, bring together slightly more on a floured surface and wrap in cling film.

Place in the fridge.

Filling:

2 beaten eggs

40z ground almonds

4oz sugar

2oz melted butter

You will also need (not for the filing):

Half a cup of flaked almonds

Mix all the ingredients together until you have a smooth consistency.

Take the pastry out of the fridge and roll out quite thinly – a couple of millimetres thick.

In a bun tray, rub the tiniest amount of butter just around the bottom rim of the spaces so the pastry comes out easily and cut out circles to fit your tray spaces and place in.

In the bottom, place flat teaspoons of whatever jam you have chosen and cover with a dollop of almond mix on top.

IMG_0198.JPG

Sprinkle some flaked almonds on top.

Bake for 30 mins in a 160 degree oven, turning 10 minutes before the end.

I did it in two batches as I only have one tray.

Then place on a cake stand (because the sight of a cake stand increases happiness instantaneously, it’s been proven…by me) and pop one after another in to your mouth knowing your handy work was appreciated by the only person that matters: You.

Go on, make yourself happy…make some cake!

There’s only a few days left to vote for me in the UK Blog Awards so please, help make my dreams come true and use the link below to vote.

VOTE HERE!

Leave a Reply

