Food, lifestyle, Recipes
Leave a Comment

Memories are made of cheese…

A few weeks ago, a friend got in touch with Mr. GTMHTC to say that his Mother had started up a small cheese business in Whitby.

Using traditional, hand methods, Elizabeth is bringing back good old-fashioned cheese making and let me tell you, this story has more than one attraction for me.

image

Number one is obvious: I love cheese.

Number two is that you know me – I’m a throwback. Anyone is who is trying to bring back a bit of the past is wonderful in my eyes.

Why wouldn’t you want to buy a wedge of creamy goodness that was crafted by someone’s loving fingers? When something is made in this way, you can simply taste it.

And finally, number three for me comes down to memories.

Mum and Dad used to whisk me off to Whitby for a day out more times than I can remember! I can see it now. I can smell the sea air and see the boats lined up as I speak of it.

image

So when it came to writing about Elizabeth’s cheeses, I thought to myself, I need to do what I do best and tie some of her produce to my cooking.

And, seen as it’s Sunday, what better way to celebrate than use some of these wonderful ingredients to create the perfect Sunday dinner centrepiece?

Cauliflower cheese with red cabbage and bacon

image.jpeg

Elizabeth kindly sent me a box of cheeses through the post which I admit, I revelled in. The perks of food blogging eh!

I feel really happy to be able to blog  about something like this.

Using local Jersey milk from 3 miles away and old family recipes, I stand for everything that The Whitby Cheese company stands for: Family, food made with love and supporting farmers.

After tasting some of her produce, it’s clear why everyone should support Elizabeth.

Although each cheese that was sent was beautiful and original in its own way, it was the Whitby Jet cheddar I decided to use in my bake.

It was delicately rich and perfectly formed; it’s everything a cheddar should be and I believe the milk – and of the course the way a cheese is handled – is the reason for this.

So, if you happen to be Whitby way and fancy a touch of something deliciously traditional, why not pop in and see Elizabeth?

We must do all we can to keep these small business alive because I believe it’s so much more than that: It’s keeping our history, our heritage and our produce alive…

You need:

1/2 red cabbage

1 small cauliflower

2 slices of bacon, unsmoked

1.5 oz butter

1.5 oz plain flour

3/4 pint of milk

0.5 teaspoon of English mustard

6oz cheddar (I used the Whitby jet!) 4oz for the sauce, 2 for the topping

How:

Pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees.

Roughly chop the cabbage and remove the leaves from the cauli, chopping the florets in to chunks.

Boil for ten mins. If you don’t want the cauli to turn purple, boil in separate pans!

When slightly soft, leave to drain over a bowl.

In a pan, melt the butter.

Whisk in the flour and once blended, pour in the milk, whisk and bring to the boil.

Once bubbling, turn the heat down and add in 4 oz cheese bit by bit, whisking as you go. Add in the mustard and mix.

Once thick, pour the veg in an oven dish and gently pour the cheese sauce on top.

Bake for ten minutes.

Meanwhile, grill the bacon until remotely crisp and cut in to chunks.

Take the cauli cheese and sprinkle the bacon over the top.

Sprinkle the remaining 2oz cheese over and grill until crisp.

Then eat and think about how much love has gone in to the whole thing, from the beginning of the cheese making until now.

Now that’s the happiness of food…

Leave a Reply

