Baking/desserts, Food, Recipes
Leave a Comment

When life gives you jam, make scones…

Last week, Mr. GTMHTC came home and shouted up the stairs, “I’VE GOT A PRESENT FOR YOUUUU!”

Now normally he can be quite dramatic when it comes to gifts, but this, I admit, was wonderful.

In a bag, waiting just for me, were two pots of homemade marmalade and jam.

And that’s why I love him…

Yes, easily pleased, I know!

A lady he works with, Judith, was kind enough to give us some of the most delicious tasting Seville orange marmalade and bramble and apple jelly.

Honestly?

I’ve never had anything that tastes like this.

So I thought to myself, what goes better with jam than a good old English scone?

I’ve had my other Grandma’s recipe ready and waiting to try for a while now and scones are little bites of wonder that every girl should know how to make.

These quintessential delights are so cute and pretty, and one of my favourite things to do is to go out for Afternoon tea – which is what I will be doing with my scones this afternoon on my own!

But that’s OK.

Because when life gives you jam, make scones…

IMG_0655

These are just plain scones, but I kind of believe if something ain’t broke don’t fix it.

It doesn’t have to be fancy to be utterly scrumptious!

You need:

I did two batches of this recipe for 12 scones:

12oz SR flour

Pinch of sea salt

1 tsp baking powder

1 egg

1 cup of milk

1 tblsp of veg oil

1 tsp honey

Milk to brush at the end

IMG_0656.JPG

How:

Sieve the dry ingredients and place in a mixing bowl.

Whisk the wet ingredients together.

Gradually pour the wet mix in to the dry whilst mixing to form a dough.

I used my electric mixer.

The dough may be quite wet and you may not need the entire cup of wet ingredients.

Flour a work surface and work in to a nice smooth dough. If it is too wet, add a little more flour.

Roll until an inch thick and cut your scones out – I got 6 good sized scones from each batch.

Place on a lined baking tray and brush with milk.

Bake for 12-15 minutes in a 190/200 degree oven or until golden brown on top.

Then while these were cooking I made another batch, simply because I don’t have the space to do one large bake!

Then layer with a good thick spread of butter and your favourite kind of jam.

Which is, in my case, Judith’s jam!

And thank you!

Grab a cup of tea, eat your scone and remember the simplest things in life are always the most pleasurable…

IMG_0654.JPG

Leave a Reply

