Breakfast Ideas, Food, Recipes
Leave a Comment

How to create the perfect Sunday breakfast…

I guess I firstly need to warn you that no sausage, bacon or fried eggs participate in this blog post.

No I’m afraid that this particular “English breakfast” has a slightly different take on what we should have on our plates on a sunny Sunday morning.

And that’s kind of what I’m trying to do with English foods and traditions anyway.

Our dishes are always seen as greasy and stodgy – the Full English being no exception – and as I wandered my way around the market yesterday, I couldn’t help but start to plan this morning (yes that’s right, a whole day early! I keep telling you: I LOVE BREAKFAST) taking inspiration from bulging packs of blueberries and loose cherries, all plump and luscious in colour.

We have to start thinking outside the box. This morning took me ten minutes to set up and what I have is a beautiful, healthy and delicious breakfast buffet that makes me smile and means Mr. GTMHTC can go back for seconds. And thirds. And so on…

image.jpeg

Don’t get me wrong, I love a fry up as much as the next Northern lass, it’s undeniably in my blood. What I love more though is variety – which is of course, the spice of life.

So why not spice up your Sunday with a fresher take on breakfast?

Take some inspiration from your market and from what’s available right now.

Just because it’s not a fry up doesn’t mean it’s not full on English…

image.jpeg

From the market I bought: 

Fresh blueberries

Loose cherries

A bag lovely dates

I also bought some local eggs just in case

From the deli I bought:

A pot of her homemade marmalade because I know how she makes it and how much time this particular preserve takes to make

I also grabbed a whole wheat loaf she had made that morning

Where: Cheesie Tchaikovsky, Clitheroe

From my kitchen: 

I whipped up some granola so quick that you’ll wonder what the heck just happened.

Oven: 190 degrees.

2 tablespoons oats

1 tablespoon veg oil

Just under a tablespoon of honey

0.5 tablespoon of coconut

Mix all together until it forms a lumpy kind of texture.

Spread on a tray lined with baking paper and cook for 10-15 mins until brown.

Leave to cool and it almost becomes caramelised and you can break it in to pieces.

From the supermarket:

If you go to Booths you can buy freshly squeezed orange juice from their machine. At least you then know it’s fresh and the ingredients consist of only one thing!

They also have a great choice of natural yoghurts.

The breakfast:

So I laid out all the fruit, spooned the yoghurts in to pots and topped it with the oat mix, I toasted the bread I’d made from my baking day last week and poured the fresh orange.

And this just proves how perfect today already is: I’ve sat down at the table with my gloriously happy breakfast and as I’ve switched the radio on, my favourite song has begun to play.

“Dream a little dream of me”

I guess that sums it all up pretty blooming perfectly!

Leave a Reply

