Baking/desserts, Food, Recipes
Comment 1

A messy Lemon curd night…

The feeling of Spring is one that infects all of us.

You may be the grumpiest so and so alive, but you can’t deny that when those days begin to get brighter and you’re no longer driving to and from work in the dark, your whole spirit just lifts!

Our eating habits reflect this.

You start to eat fresher; your plates start to mimic the seasons – give me a rainy day and I’ll give you pie and mash, but give me a crisp spring day and a dinner party on my hands and I’ll give you…

Oh I don’t know.

Lemon curd meringue mess with fresh raspberries maybe?!!

image

I mean I’m a winter freak I absolutely love it, but as soon as March hits I’m ready for it. No more stodgy puds and eating gallons of custard under my warm and cosy duvet like my life depends on it. Well, not everyday anyway…

Nope, my little get togethers become zinger and and cooler and last night, after not seeing these particular friends for a while, I wanted something relaxed and easy. Something that said, “Ah! I’m so happy to see you!”

And I said the same to Spring when it came knocking on my window, pouring sunlight in to my home and presenting me with that fresh new lease of life that it does so well.

Ah Spring…I’m so happy to see you!

Grandma’s Lemon curd:

Melt 4oz butter with 8oz sugar on a medium heat.

Once melted, mix in 4 whisked free-range eggs very slowly off the heat until combined.

Add in the juice of four large lemons and stir in, keeping the pan back on the heat until it starts to thicken.

Leave to cool in a sterilised jar.

Meringues:

Whisk three medium egg whites until stiff peaks are created.

Slowly add in 175g caster sugar until the mix is glossy.

Spoon on to a tray lined with baking paper and cook at 150 degrees for one and a half hours.

For the mess!

In jars, layer curd, raspberries, crushed meringue, whipped cream and vanilla ice-cream until your pots overflow with absolute happiness.

Each bite gives you a taste of either zingy lemons, cold and creamy ice-cream or tangy raspberry.

And if that’s not something to feel fresh about…

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

