Baking/desserts, Breakfast Ideas, Food, Recipes
Leave a Comment

In memory of Grandad’s weetabix cake…

So first things first: I’m sorry I haven’t written in a while but not only have I been rushing around like a bear with a hungry belly, but I’ve been quite ill.

For the past couple of days, I’ve literally been wiped out.

But as soon as I began to feel better, I knew what I needed to do in order to really feel like oneself again: Bake.

You’ve been under the weather, you haven’t been feeling like eating much (which let’s face it, is when my family starts to worry. Ignore the temperature, she’s refused food!) and you just want comfort.

Quilt, couch, socks, tea: You just need to feel homely and cosy don’t you?

And there’s nothing I find more comforting than flicking through Grandma’s cookbook.

On top of this, there’s been a few occasions recently when my good old Grandad has been brought up in conversation and although I was only young when he passed away, he’s the one person I think about everyday.

I consider him to be that hypothetical “Guardian Angel”. I ask him when I need some help in life and I guess yesterday was no different.

“Oh my god WHAT DO I WANT TO EAT!”

And then the page fell open on Grandma’s Weetabix cake.

“Eeee”, Grandma said, “That was one of your Grandad’s favourites!”

I mean, who knows how old this recipe is because it has been 21 years since he left us. It does prove though that sometimes you can’t beat a good, classic recipe.

So that was it.

image2 (1)

Who knew Weetabix was the answer to all my problems?!

Grandad’s Weetabix cake:

Soak 4 Weetabix, 8oz brown sugar and 5oz sultanas in 8oz milk for 1 hour.

Pre-heat the oven to 160 degrees.

Then, mix in 1 large free-range egg and 4oz self-raising flour until the whole mix is combined.

Very lightly grease a tin – a loaf tin will be perfect – and pour in the mix.

Bake for 1 hour 15 minutes.

The thing with this recipe is that even though it sounds almost Peter Kay-esque – “Weetabix…in a cake?” – it really is just so simple and so wonderfully delicious that I think someone needs to reinstate Weetabix as practically god-like.

And I guess it’s that old sentiment isn’t it? You can always trust Grandma and Grandad…to cheer you up with food!

Throughout the baking process, I couldn’t help feeling overwhelmed a little with thoughts and memories of Grandad, which is understandable because I used to spend every waking moment with him and Gran.

But that’s what cooking and food and enjoying life is all about.

Talking about the good times, remembering the good times and rejoicing in the people and food we love.

Leave a Reply

