Breakfast Ideas, Food, Main dishes, Recipes
Leave a Comment

When I horseradished my asparagus…

You know me.

I’m always conjuring food combinations up in my head and I’m that girl at work who sits down to eat lunch, just for everyone to simultaneously say, “ew Emily, what’s that!?”

Yes. Thanks.

But more often than not and just ask Mr. GTMHTC, these food combinations work.

You just gotta go for it.

As Julia Child exclaimed, be fearless!

I love to cook (obviously) and I relish in cooking with in season, local British produce.

I believe food needn’t be complicated, but that doesn’t mean it can’t be exciting.

Now I’ve only just blogged about an asparagus dish, I know, but at the moment I just can’t get enough of the stuff.

So, I thought, how can I jazz it up this time?

And as I opened that overflowing cupboard of mine, SMACK.

Out fell the horseradish and it was clear what I had to do…

OK, OK, it didn’t happen like that but it might as well have done.

It works. Just trust me on this.

Grilled horseradish asparagus on eggy bread

IMG_1973

Serves 2

1 bunch of asparagus tips

1 teaspoon of horseradish

4 slices of white bread – it has to be white for egg bread. And I find it works better if the bread is a couple of days old.

4 free range eggs

100ml of milk

1 teaspoon of mustard

Olive oil

salt and pepper

How:

Mix the asparagus in a bowl with the horseradish so all of them are covered, season with a little pepper and a very small amount of olive oil.

Place under the grill.

Whisk the egg, milk, mustard and a good bit of salt and pepper together in a large bowl.

Heat about a tablespoon of oil in a frying pan on a medium setting.

Place a piece of bread in the egg mix with a fork, turn to cover each side and place in the frying pan. Cook until golden brown on each side.

Continue to dip each slice of bread and cook.

Don’t forget about your asparagus. They should be slightly charred on all sides so turn once.

Serve with the asparagus on top of the egg bread and season.

I topped with a little more horseradish and well, sat down with Mr. GTMHTC who didn’t turn to me and say “what the hell is my asparagus so spicy?” and we ate.

It was delicious.

I just want everyone to get in to their kitchen and go crazy a little. Cooking should be fun and there are a million ways to reinvent your favourite foods.

Yum! x

Leave a Reply

