Baking/desserts, Food, Recipes
Leave a Comment

Full circle strawberry crumble…

You know what they say: Everything in life comes back around full circle.

Every Thursday we all used to trudge over to Grandma’s house and wait very un-patiently around the table for tea, arguing over the last piece of cheese and onion pie before she’d actually taken it out of the oven.

I guess the eating thing is genetic

And then came pudding.

I remember this one in particular because I have a sweet tooth, and it’s also something I don’t tend to see or eat that much anymore – until yesterday.

Yes, Grandma, used to present us with strawberry pie or crumble..but wait.

I can’t blame her for this because it’s totally a generation thing and it makes me laugh to be honest so here goes: It wasn’t just any old strawberries.

Ooohhhh noooooooo.

It was tinned strawberries.

Ha! Me who harps on about fresh this, seasonal that and one of my favourite things I used to eat was bloody tinned strawberries in syrup.

Anyway, last night Grandma came to my house for tea and I thought, you know what? I’m going to do what she used to do for me.

There we were, me and her, sat at my table just the two of us eating strawberry crumble.

It was like no time had passed, chatting and giggling.

Yet that’s what it’s all about isn’t it?

I’m about to start a new chapter with my own little family and one day they’ll be making my tea and my Mum’s tea (hopefully. If I teach em’ right!), just like I did for old Meg tonight.

So, this one’s really for you Grandma.

Thanks for all the Thursday tea’s – told you I’d pay you back!

IMG_2408

Fresh strawberry crumble

IMG_3699

 You need:

8-10 oz fresh strawberries, roughly cut

4 oz plain flour

2 oz cold cubed butter

2 oz white sugar

1 teaspoon extra sugar

How:

Pre-heat the oven to gas mark 6/200 degrees in an electric fan oven

In a bowl, place the butter, sugar and flour.

Rub together through your fingers until you create a fine crumb.

In an 8 inch all round tin, place the strawberries and sprinkle with the teaspoon of sugar.

IMG_3700

Cover with the crumble mix.

Cook for about 20 minutes or until nice and golden on top.

Serve with cream and if you can, save some and take it round to your Grans!

Leave a Reply

