Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Banana, oat and coconut slices…it’s a pregnant thing!

It’s official.

Yep, I’m definitely pregnant.

At 36 weeks you would think that I already might have had a brief awareness of this but good god, I didn’t think I would feel this tired right now.

Up until this last week, I’ve had it pretty good – no heartburn (well, not bad enough to call it heartburn and actually, surprise, surprise, I only get it a little when I’m…hungry!), no swelling (yet) and no major hiccups.

I’ve been really lucky.

Now however is the time when I feel I need to really up my energy levels and as you know, in my opinion food is the way to go.

I want to keep it simple and I want to keep it tasty, so have being doing a bit of research in to easy bake health bars.

Looking at some of them, I’d rather eat sawdust as I imagine that’s what some of those said “raw” things resemble, but I did, in the end, come away inspired.

So, the final decision was made: Banana, oat, coconut, sultana and vanilla slices.

And let’s be honest, by adding on the term vanilla slice at the end, you can totally fool yourself in to believing you’re about to devour something entirely different…

IMG_5224

1 cup of oats

2.5 mashed banana

2 tablespoons sultanas

1.5 tablespoons desiccated coconut

1/2 vanilla pod seeds scraped

Sprinkling of ground cinnamon

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees, fan oven.

Combine all the ingredients and mix until combined.

Line a square 8″ all round baking tray and pat the mix in to the tray until even.

FullSizeRender (10)

Bake for 10-12 mins or until the mix feels firm.

Leave to cool (if you can…I couldn’t!) and slice in to 8 – 10 slices.

And pregnant or not, there’s some good, wholesome ingredients in this recipe so you don’t have to have a bump to qualify!

Leave a Reply

