Baking/desserts, Food, Recipes
Leave a Comment

The scone snob: Date and apple scone slice…

I love a good afternoon tea as much as the next English lass, but I have to admit, the epic scone, jam and cream part is one which I always leave until last.

It’s not because I don’t like them…but they have to be good.

Yes, that’s right everyone: I, Emily Louise Ashworth, am a scone snob.

There, I said it.

And as someone who relishes in and cherishes our history, I think I have a right to be  a little hoity-toity when it comes to a classic such as this.

I’ve always found it slightly fascinating the way my Mum and Grandma bake scones because we never got served great, whopping bulges of buttery, fruity cake, we got slices darling.

They both bake their scones in one, large round which then gets sliced in to pizza like wedges.

It’s obviously come from my Grandma who used to bake for a living, got passed on to Mother and then of course, to me.

But here’s the next blow to all you scone devotees: It has to be dates over raisins or sultanas for me.

I just love the plump, juicy texture of dates amid the soft, delicate comfort of a scone and teamed with chunks of apple ticks all the boxes for me.

So, here’s my little twist on a traditional, my date and apple scone slice.

Sometimes it’s good to get a bit fruity in life isn’t it?!

img_5953

You need: 

8oz self-raising flour

1 oz sugar

2 oz cold, cubed butter

3 oz chopped and pitted dates

3 ounces of chopped, peeled and cored apple chunks – I used a Granny Smith

1 beaten egg plus a little for brushing after

Half a cup of milk

How:

Pre-heat the oven to gas mark 5/170 or 180 in electric fan oven.

Rub the flour, butter and sugar together until in a crumb like consistency.

Add the fruit and egg.

Add the milk a little a time until you can combine in to a nice, smooth dough.

You may not need all the milk. I like my dough a little stickier because it makes the scone softer, but I warn you, this is the messier option!

Bring together on a floured surface and pat in to a round about 1 inch thick on a lined baking tray.

img_5933

Brush with a little egg and bake for 20 minutes or until golden.

Then, you can make yourself a cup of tea, raise your little finger as you drink and enjoy a little slice of scone snobbery!

Enjoy!

img_5959

Leave a Reply

