Baking/desserts, Food, Recipes
Leave a Comment

Easy Christmas apple crumble…

I. AM. CHRISTMAS.

Nope, there is no grammatical error in that sentence: I areally am Christmas.

I’m 26 and I still wake Mr. GTMHTC up at 4:30am on Christmas morning because I’m so damn excited – granted he doesn’t actually let me get up until the more suitable time of at least 6am.

Why? 

Because why the bloody  hell not? 

Everyone keeps saying to me, “oh it’s not the same when you grow up!”, but to me it’s better.

Christmas is something that comes from within; it’s a time to look back on your year, get your friends and family around and drink and laugh over some utterly delicious food.

I mean, I don’t need an excuse to drink and eat but this time of year just oozes get togethers.

I think in the world we live in, where kids aren’t kids anymore and there’s so much going on in the news, everybody could try to embrace the simplicity of the season: Love, family and of course, good food!

Easy apple crumble

IMG_7576.JPG

A crumble is such an easy dessert that even those who aren’t big on cooking can do it for that Christmas party you may be having.

Add a little nutmeg and cinnamon in for a dose of good cheer and there you have it.

I used an oat topping just to add a little texture.

You need:

Serves 3 – 4

2 apples peeled, cored and sliced – I had some Royal Gala apples left so used them up

1 heaped teaspoon sugar

Half a teaspoon of cinnamon

Quarter teaspoon of nutmeg

Crumble:

4oz small oats

2oz cold cubed butter

2oz sugar

Pre-heat the oven to gas mark 5/190 degrees

Place the apples in a small baking tray and cover with the teaspoon of sugar, nutmeg and cinnamon.

img_7562

Shake/Mix just so all apples are covered.

Rub together the oats, butter and sugar until there’s no big lumps of butter.

Sprinkle on top of the apples and bake for 20-25 mins, turning halfway through and until golden brown on top.

Then, sit down with your loved ones and feel a little more Christmassy with every warning bite…

P.s – this year is extra special for me because it’s the first as our new little family 🙂 Merry Christmas everyone x

img_7392

Leave a Reply

