Food, Recipes
Leave a Comment

Peanut butter & jam porridge…

Peanut butter and jam.

They go together like Bonnie and Clyde; like salt and vinegar or if we’re getting soppy here, Mr. GTMHTC and me.

I know, I know – too early for such mush right?

Anyway, I woke up feeling the need for something that well, tasted like a dessert.

And as the saying goes:

Life is short. Eat dessert first!

life-is-short-eat-dessert-first

Mixed lovingly with whole milk and honey, this isn’t particularly bad for you in my opinion.

It’s creamy, it’s gently sweet and it’s full of goodness from your porridge oats and your peanut butter.

But anyway, who cares?

My Grandma puts condensed milk in to her porridge and she’s 90 so I think we’ll be just fine…!

img_8696

You need:

Half a cup of rolled porridge oats

1 cup of whole milk

1 teaspoon of honey (plus some extra for drizzling)

2 teaspoons of good quality peanut butter such as Whole Earth or Meridian. I used a smooth one

1 teaspoon of strawberry jam

Method:

Place the oats, milk, honey and 1 teaspoon of peanut butter in a pan on a medium heat and stir gently until the porridge is at a consistency you enjoy.

Pour in to a bowl and top with the other teaspoon of peanut butter, the jam and drizzle with honey.

It’s kind of like having rice pudding for breakfast.

And I’m totally OK with that!

Leave a Reply

