Baking/desserts, Food, Latest, Recipes
Leave a Comment

Grandma’s easy lemon 8pm slice…

It’s 8pm.

I’ve just put Maggie May to bed (I’ll probably be seeing her again in a couple of hours. And then I’m guessing every hour after that).

I should probably do something productive around the house like…tackle the monstrous pile of washing in the bedroom.

Or hoover.

But yet, here I am, prancing around in my new apron baking a lemon cake.

And I’ve never felt better!

There has been so much going on these past few weeks, what with me going back to work, house issues and oh, did I mention…I’m back at work? Plus, I’m also starting to write a book based on my late, beautiful Grandmother who was in the Women’s Land Army.

So, yes, it’s been hectic.

Tonight I sat down at my computer ready to do some work on said book when I just couldn’t stop myself. Before I knew it I was aproned up and squeezing lemons to within an inch of their zesty lives.

My Grandma’s favourite was lemon cake. I used to make her lemon curd and bits of cake when I could, so right now, at this hectic moment in time I just needed to do what I do best:

Bake. And blog.

This is the easiest “citrus slice” to make ever.

This is for those who just need a moment to remember that in the busy midst of life, take those lemons and make the best cake of all time out of them.

And then, as my Gran would say, just get on with it.

image2

Citrus slice

image3

4oz unsalted butter

4oz sugar

6oz SR flour

2 eggs

The juice of half a lemon

The zest of half a lemon

Method:

OVEN: 190 degress electric fan.

Beat the sugar and butter together. Add in the eggs, flour, zest and juice and beat until smooth.

Very lightly grease a rectangular baking dish (or a swiss roll tin shape) and pour in the mix.

Bake for around 30 minutes.

Topping

This is one of my ultimate musts.

Mix the rest of the juice from the other half of the lemon with about 5-7 heaped teaspoons of icing sugar. While the cake is hot, pierce and pour over the lemon mix.

The heat crystallises the icing sugar. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

