Baking/desserts, Food, Recipes
Comments 2

A beautifully simple ginger and syrup sponge…

How busy is life?

We’ve been in the house since April but we’ve only just been mananging to make time to actually do anything to it.

I’ve gone back to work after what I consider to be the happiest time of my entire life. Becoming a Mother far exceeded any preconception I had of babyhood, so that transition has been hard.

And finally, getting the time to sit and write to you guys has seemed near enough impossible – which makes me sad.

So, as I’m getting in to the swing of things (slowly but surely), I have made a vow that once a week is my time: My time to cook, my time to write, my time to try and to do a little of what I love.

Bake. Eat. And write!

This weekend has given me the opportunity to do just that because we’re off to our friends for dinner.

It is only right that as a recent complainer of “I DON’T HAVE TIME TO COOK/BLOG/BAKE/EAT” I took some time this morning to cook/blog/bake and whip up something delicious for dessert tonight.

The leaves have fallen, the earth has turned a shade or orange and it’s actually fairly bloody miserable up North.

And that, my friends, spells:

IMG_3793

Ginger and syrup sponge.

A beautiful and simple recipe from my Mother and one to warm your heart this weekend.

Because sometimes the best things in life are beautifully simple aren’t they?

So, take a slice and get comfy and remember, no matter who you are, you must always make time for yourself.

To refresh, relax and do a little of what you love.

You need:

4oz butter

4oz soft brown sugar

8oz self-raising flour

1 egg, beaten

3-4 teaspoons ground ginger

7oz golden syrup, plus extra for drizzling

How:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees (fan).

Cream the butter and the sugar until light and smooth.

Add in the egg, flour, ginger and syrup and mix until combined.

Lightly grease an ovenproof dish (see my picture – it’s quite shallow as this recipe doesn’t require a deep cake tin).

Pour in and make sure it is evenly spread out and bake for 40 minutes, or until you can pull a clean fork out when testing.

This works best when serve do hot with syrup drizzled on top.

IMG_3798

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Links & Likes ~ October. ♡ | sunshine and celandines

Leave a Reply

